jump to navigation

Friday Musings July 27, 2007

Posted by Anna Vincent in General Musings, Healthy Living, Links.
trackback

Another weekend is just on the doorstep. 2 more hours of work (or not) and I’m free for 2 days!

I had a college friend visit and spend the night at my house last night. I made a yummy salad for us, then we were off to another friend’s house to visit with his family. Conversations are usually pretty meaningful with my friend, the Faulty Filter, and I always leave with a new feeling of motivation or inspiration. She’s read my cards a few times over the years, and each time it’s always a positive experience.

Last night, my cards told a story about my professional life. I have challenges ahead of me, but I’ll get through them, and come out on top, and hopefully will have the respect of the other people in my department, which is extremely lacking right now. I’ve been at my current job for just over 3 months, and feel like a complete outsider. I am so completely different than they are (i.e. not so jaded) and want to inspire positive change, whereas they just like to bitch and complain, and I often here “that’s not my job; I better not be responsible for that”. There are several things that go on (or don’t go on) that have completely shocked me. Nothing is done with any business sense, or any sense for that matter. These guys just run around putting out fires. When presented with a chance to improve the way things are done, they get extremely defensive. They don’t like the status quo, but they seem extremely reluctant to change. I’ve offered suggestions for specific issues, and the response so far has been that I’m offending them. I even heard one guy, who I am assuming didn’t know I was right around the corner, telling the group how stupid I am. Hmph! Sure, that hurt, for like a second. But now, I just chalk it up to insecurity and ignorance.

There is a book I’ve been meaning to read: am-BITCH-ous by Dr. Debra Condren. It may help with my current struggles. Maybe I’ll look into getting a library card this weekend. It’s one of those things I’ve been meaning to do, but never get around to doing it. I’m just finding now that there are so many books I want to read, but books are expensive, and I may not want to keep a book after reading it.


On a completely different topic, I came across some cool new websites today, and it’s all because of an email subscription I have to www.greenfeet.com:

Every Day with Rachel Ray

http://www.cleanlife.com.au/: Modern eco-ganic solutions for the conscientouse consumer; Bringing Green Mainstream. I’ve signed up for there weekly tips, called ComeClean.

http://www.greenlightmag.com/index.php Your Guide to Earth-Friendly Living….

a “guilt-free” one-stop resource for earth-friendly alternatives. greenlight provides you with information and ideas that show you how you can live well and still make a difference

They have a quarterly digital magazine that you can subscribe to FOR FREE. The Resources section on their site is amazing. I’m sure I’ll be spending some time this weekend surfing around.

Comments»

1. GEM - August 8, 2007

All caught up on your blogging! Keep your chin up and stick to your guns…put another brick in your purse while you’re at it! Keep the little devils at bay.

I’ll have to be sure and add an extra-special wedding rant post-nuptials. Just kidding! Not anticipating any troubles at all – just a beautiful and quick ceremony on the beach.


Leave a Reply

