jump to navigation

Bootcamp: Day 7 (It’s a Love/Hate Thang) September 5, 2007

Posted by Anna Vincent in General Musings, Healthy Living.
trackback

So I’ve missed posting for a few days. My life has kind of been in an uproar since last Wednesday. After the endless hills and stairs I wrote about in my previous post, my calves killed me for about 3 days. The day after hurt, but I could live with it. Friday, I could barely walk. Needless to say, I did not go to boot camp that day.

Monday was a holiday, so there was no class. Tuesday’s class was a cardio and ‘playing in the park’. Tuesday was tough for me. It probably didn’t help that I had suffered an extreme hangover on Monday, and noshed on pizza all day, but we were to be running through the river valley in the pitch dark. I quickly got left behind, and soon found myself running all by myself. The fact that a cougar was spotted in the river valley didn’t bother me as much as the thought of a homeless person popping out of the bushes and shanking me with a knife.

I was up in Jasper for the weekend with the outdoor club, and we stayed at a hostel, which for the most part was fun. A hike that had the potential of being fun but because of the people I was with, turned out to be some kind of crazy race up the mountain, and back down the mountain. I was behind them all for 12 km, constantly trying to keep up. They would stop every now and then, drink water, chat, and by the time I caught up, they were off again! It was maddening.

So, Tuesday morning being alone in the dark river valley was just adding up to the frustration I faced on the mountain. I was very upset, and had to force myself not to cry. I walked back to the starting point, and waited for everyone else to show up before we continued on to the park for drills on monkey bars, push-ups, v-sits (Navasana in the yoga world), tricep dips, pull ups, and about 1/8th of a chin up. That was a joke. Again, having just come off a major hangover probably didn’t help the matter.

This morning was weight day. We started with running around the park to get warmed up, played some Ulti (destroyed the frisbee) and alternated doing laps with resistance exercises. With the exception of a weird nerve-pinchy thing in my hip that was causing pain all the way down my leg, it was better than yesterday.

Tomorrow morning will be cardio, which will mean running, running, and more running. Have I mentioned how much I hate running? God, it hurts.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

